Inspection

Since I had no time on the previous weekend to review what I actually purchased, while in the area, I decided to take some time to inspect the Coupe – just to see what I could see…

Busted up

Busted Up

I started with the front end. Both headlights and housings a complete mess. I picked the glass out for safety – yes, glass headlight lenses?. The grille, with a couple broken tabs was hanging in there thanks to gravity. The trim piece between the grille and bumper is in worse shape, mangled bends, broken tabs, hanging in by one rusty screw clearly not original. The euro style bumper is in rough shape as well, a big break on the Driver’s side corner, missing a corner light and the center grille. The two side grilles barely held in place. It also doesn’t fit cleanly on either side by the wheel wells. This will need some work to look decent.

 

I came to the auxiliary radiator behind the grille next. Yikes, it looked real bad, but upon touching it, the fins started to crumble away… What a nice feature. With some research, it looks like with No A/C (already partially removed) and the moderate climate of the northeast, a new radiator in the OEM location should be enough so I can ditch this Auxiliary Radiator.

Caution: Crumbles Upon Touch

Caution: Crumbles Upon Touch

I came across this little gem then, not really what I was thinking about the car at this point though:

That's Optimistic

That’s Optimistic

 

Hmm… and under the oil Cap I found… something shiny!?

Something Shiny

Something Shiny

 

The intake and TB assembly, although dirty on the outside, appears to be complete – aside from that Foam boot thing. Who honestly thought that would be a good idea?

A mess, but the movement is clean.

A mess, but the movement is clean.

Why so complicated Audi?

Why so complicated Audi?

A light under the hood? What a great idea! I’ll take that as a sign I’ll be spending considerable amounts of time under here…

This would require an electrical system that has juice. Not quite there yet.

Testing this would require an electrical system that has juice. Not quite there yet.

 

Walking around the car a little more, the passenger side front tire had given up and completely let out. At least it held for the ride home – I’ll take it.

Bad Tire

On to one of the more pressing issues of the car, the leak. This is something I’ll be looking to track down and fix sooner rather than later.

Looks like the car pissed itself in excitement for a new life!

Looks like the car pissed itself in excitement for a new life!

Mmmm… and then there’s the mold…

I won't feel bad ripping this out.

I won’t feel bad ripping this out.

Into the tool kit, rusty, but i already know everything in here works, except for those nondescript white pills, and that strange thing with a hose and red rubberish balloon thing…

Rusty, but with some added goodies.

Rusty, but with some added goodies.

IMG_2411

What IS this?

All in all, no real surprises during the inspection. The car is about what I could expect for a 450 dollar early 90’s Audi. I wish I had put a wrench to the crank at least while I was up there, but it will have to wait another day. To summarize some of what I didn’t take a picture of, the underside is reasonably clean. There are a couple exhaust heat shields that are mostly rusted away and the exhaust is hanging precariously but rust on the suspension components and body panels is minimal. Next post will probably be a list of parts needed to get the car running and the work required before I can attempt to turn it over.

Leave a Reply

